The Heineken Prizes for Science and Art were awarded during an official ceremony on September 27th 2018 in Amsterdam. Read the news item from The Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW), who selected the winners, here. The Heineken Young Scientist Awards were also awarded on the same night. Joost Snijder won in the category Medical/Biomedical Science.

From left: Louisa Brassey, Marie-José van Tol, Joost Snijder, Peter Bijl, Tineke Cleiren, Martin Moerings, Alexander de Carvalho. Martin Moerings and Tineke Cleiren accepted the award on behalf of Maartje van der Woude (Image: Frank van Beek)